My Hair.

I keep it up and covered.

“Why?”:

I keep her protected.

She is new like a baby

But I know her past life-

So many have laid grounds in her.

They set up shop and cabins

Where they raised families

And chopped firewood and

Fed their children my stories

And secrets and

They fabricated them and and and

On top of my head sat

Heat-damaged lying mouths and breath.

So now she is new.

I hold her near me.

Maybe now another start will not be necessary.

The stories she holds are truths

And when she grows older her armour

Will be of love and light

And she will give,

And house no one.

 

October, 2016

Signal Hill, CA.

Leave a Reply

